The Cal-look Lounge
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
May 22, 2024, 00:39:47 am

Login with username, password and session length
Thank you for your support!
Search:     Advanced search
350782 Posts in 28590 Topics by 6824 Members
Latest Member: 63calLQQK
* Home This Year's European Top 20 lists All Time European Top 20 lists Search Login Register
+  The Cal-look Lounge
|-+  Tyre kicking
| |-+  Off Topic
| | |-+  How I become the owner of my current car....
« previous next »
Pages: [1] Print
Author Topic: How I become the owner of my current car....  (Read 2374 times)
ApeLatex
« on: March 15, 2008, 03:26:58 am »

Here it is..How my Corrado came to be mine and how the VW obsession began...

In 2003 I was a college student, broke, working full time and taking the shame train to and from---rarely time to get my school work done.
A very close friend of mine had just purchased a new car...for him.
A 1995 BMW M3 in Avus blue. His father (very wealthy family) bought it for him because the little red car (the corrado) that he got a few years ago was apparently not good enough for him.
I remember when he first got the Corrado. He emailed me a bunch of pictures of it and me, not knowing much about cars at the time I thought it was a DeLorean or some wierd car that looked smushed up.
His family knew I was struggling to save money to buy my own car but I kept getting set back with school expenses etc.
And everyday I saw the Corrado parked in what seemed to be it's last resting place outside of his house up in the Berkeley Hills.

One night during dinner at his house (I was pretty much adopted into the family) his dad told me he wanted to give me something and slid the keys across the table...My first car!!!! Holy Shit!!!
He warned me to sell it and buy something more reliable. I agreed.

I knew I'd have to get the car smogged and all that jazz. Keep in mind the car sat for 2 years....