The Cal-look Lounge
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
April 29, 2024, 18:52:47 pm

Login with username, password and session length
Thank you for your support!
Search:     Advanced search
350689 Posts in 28577 Topics by 6823 Members
Latest Member: Riisager
* Home This Year's European Top 20 lists All Time European Top 20 lists Search Login Register
+  The Cal-look Lounge
|-+  Cal-look/High Performance
| |-+  Pure racing
| | |-+  What Ignition with turbo ?
« previous next »
Pages: [1] Print
Author Topic: What Ignition with turbo ?  (Read 5528 times)
AlexB

« on: December 28, 2010, 13:28:29 pm »

Having just sold the Jagerbugs 1914 engine I am now in the process of putting 2 new engines together for next season - first is the rebuild of our 2276 on 48 Idas which is getting a new crank and bearings after we trashed them at bugjam 2009 ! but the second engine is a 76mm cranked Oxyboxer I have been collecting bits for over the last 2 years - I have just bought a pull through turbo setup pulling through a 45 dcoe weber with a crown adaptor - engine will run a tcs 20 cam ( its coming with the turbo kit !) and 42 x 37 heads but having read up about ignition setups there seems to be the 'locked out 009' school of thought which is the budget option or the other option ( which I think sounds better) using a megajolt ignition with a crank trigger and edis/coilpack and no dizzy

Anyone got any experiences/advice they would care to share

Cheers

Alex  Grin
Jesse Wens

« Reply #1 on: December 28, 2010, 13:53:32 pm »

I'm gonna use a crank triggered system with double distributor and twin spark. Fully programmable for each spark independantly.
I did locked distributor last 2 years and it works easily, but far from perfectly, specialy on a street driven car.
The twin spark is a little extra, hope it pays dividends. The bigger the bore , the more they say.