The Cal-look Lounge
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
October 07, 2024, 00:02:50 am

Login with username, password and session length
Thank you for your support!
Search:     Advanced search
351100 Posts in 28640 Topics by 6846 Members
Latest Member: JamesBoyd
* Home This Year's European Top 20 lists All Time European Top 20 lists Search Login Register
+  The Cal-look Lounge
|-+  Cal-look/High Performance
| |-+  Pure racing
| | |-+  Inefficent VW dragracing?
« previous next »
Pages: [1] Print
Author Topic: Inefficent VW dragracing?  (Read 6777 times)
freakpower

« on: July 23, 2012, 23:31:40 pm »

I am new to the VW dragrace-scene, even thou I have been involved with aircooled Volkswagen's most of my life.
The last two years, I have been collecting parts and information to make my first street/strip beetle. In this period I have been talking to several persons in the traditional Scandinavian dragrace-scene.
It seems that they think that vw-racers in general spend much more time in the depot between each lap, than for example the V8 -people.
What is your opinion about this statement?
Is it because our engines needs more time to chill down, or are there other reasons.
dragvw2180

« Reply #1 on: July 24, 2012, 00:56:36 am »

Maybe because alot of us do not have an onboard cooling or charging system to save weight. Between rounds I cool my engine with a fan and recharge my battery fully. Some passes it gives me time to change my underware, Mike McCarthy
Dominick Luppino

« Reply #2 on: July 25, 2012, 00:35:26 am »

Maybe because alot of us do not have an onboard cooling or charging system to save weight. Between rounds I cool my engine with a fan and recharge my battery fully. Some passes it gives me time to change my underware, Mike McCarthy

Been there done that!
BeetleBug

Snabba grabben...

« Reply #3 on: July 25, 2012, 09:16:57 am »