The Cal-look Lounge
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
April 16, 2024, 20:36:00 pm

Login with username, password and session length
Thank you for your support!
Search:     Advanced search
350676 Posts in 28571 Topics by 6818 Members
Latest Member: Mk-Zero
* Home This Year's European Top 20 lists All Time European Top 20 lists Search Login Register
+  The Cal-look Lounge
|-+  Cal-look/High Performance
| |-+  Pure racing
| | |-+  Hello, and questions on 2007 engine.
« previous next »
Pages: [1] Print
Author Topic: Hello, and questions on 2007 engine.  (Read 4252 times)
JohnTheSparky1

« on: December 17, 2018, 23:46:49 pm »

Hello,  I’m new here, so apologies for questions on my first post

I’ve been building a UVA fugitive with my son for a couple of years,  we got it on the road earlier in the year with a 1300tp in it

I’ve just picked up an ex-drag race engine, that’s been sat around for a while (12 years we think)
It came out of a beach buggy called ‘Starbug’ and I’ve been told ran 12.40s

Engine is a AS21 case
Full flow oil system
Type 3 heads, port matched to 44idf Webers
90.5 pistons
Bug pack rods
1.4 ratio rockers
1.5” merged exhaust
78mm counterweight crank
FK87 Engle cam
Lightened flywheel and Kennedy stage 1 clutch

We’ve stripped it, it all seems good, just needing new bearings etc

But wondered whether the cam is a bit fierce?
Also the clutch has been hammered, and not sure if we’ll get away with refacing and a new plate or whether we need a new flywheel? 
And if we do replace the flywheel, would we need to get it all balanced again, or would the flywheel be balanced and therefore just bolt on?

Thanks in advance
John
JohnTheSparky1

« Reply #1 on: December 17, 2018, 23:49:44 pm »

Chris bugster

« Reply #2 on: December 19, 2018, 13:28:29 pm »

Sorry that I don't answer your question, but the thing I would be concerned about is the compression ratio, as you say it's an old drag engine.

11.2@124mph
T11964