The Cal-look Lounge
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
April 27, 2024, 04:29:58 am

Login with username, password and session length
Thank you for your support!
Search:     Advanced search
350689 Posts in 28577 Topics by 6823 Members
Latest Member: Riisager
* Home This Year's European Top 20 lists All Time European Top 20 lists Search Login Register
+  The Cal-look Lounge
|-+  Cal-look/High Performance
| |-+  Cal-look
| | |-+  How to pep-up a 1500cc single-port engine on a student budget.
« previous next »
Pages: [1] 2 Print
Author Topic: How to pep-up a 1500cc single-port engine on a student budget.  (Read 23928 times)
donder

« on: January 04, 2007, 21:44:09 pm »

hi everybody

i'm thinking of putting a 1500cc single-port 44 hp(instead of the 30hp) strong engine in my 59 bug with the original gearbox from the 1500cc(longer final ratio), but i would like it to be a bit faster.
Because i'm still a student that has to pay everything by himself it has to fit in my budget.
So here are my plans, if anyone has some interesting advice/ tip, please let me know.
I was thinking of a lightened flywheel, compression ratio sligtly raised(9:1?), a set of vw type3 1500s carbs, and an other exhaust, the valve rockers from a 1300cc double inlet port head(1.1:1) instead of the 1 : 1 rockers.

that's about it, i'm not planning to open the engine because he has only 41K km's om the tacho.
The engine has to become a motor that is fun to drive with, and can be daily driven like a stock one.

So, what are you're suggestions?

Thanx

Philip
« Last Edit: January 04, 2007, 21:45:54 pm by donder » Logged
SOB/RFH

Have fun!!

« Reply #1 on: January 04, 2007, 22:18:22 pm »

Wow!!! I love those no money but lot's a power engines. So here is my way of thinking. Like it or dislike it, but it is out of the box.